Review: Angry & Cliff

Angry and CliffAngry and Cliff is a comedy podcast hosted by the British duo and released very week. Each episode lasts around 30-40 minutes and features irreverent discussion on topical news, movies and TV, as well as the occasional anecdote from their personal lives.

The programme is built on a very solid foundation: the hosts have great chemistry together and their quick witted banter is fun to listen to. They also have a long Rollidex of guest hosts to roll out as needed. Unfortunately I feel like their talents aren’t utilised as well as they could be. It’s not that the podcast is bad, it’s that I didn’t find it as easy to get hooked on as I thought I would.

The problem stems from some pretty underwhelming regular segments, such as On This Day In History, and a general lack of tight structure. When I listen to an episode I enjoy it, but I also don’t find myself hanging out for the next episode, which suggests to me that the show lacks a much needed hook.

Despite this, I’d still rank Angry and Cliff above most other “two-friends-make-a-podcast” podcasts. They put an admirable amount of effort into the production quality and organising regular guests, and their back and forth doesn’t degenerate into juvenile swearing contests like so many others. There’s a lot of substance here, it just lacks an execution that I found engaging.

Subscribe to Angry & Cliff: Website | iTunes | RSS

Hear the audio version of this review, including samples from the show and a 2 person discussion, in Episode 19 of Podwatch: iTunes | RSS | Direct download

Ratings for Angry and Cliff
Entertainment value

There were definitely times where I found Angry and Cliff laugh out loud funny, but there were others where I completely zoned out. This suggests to me that with the right format and the right content, Angry and Cliff has potential to be consistently enjoyable.

starstarstarstarstar
Quality of content

A lot of effort goes into their regular guests and segments, but I can’t say I look forward to listening to any of them. This is different from saying I don’t enjoy them, it just doesn’t ever leave me wanting more.

starstarstarstarstar
Production quality

Excellent production quality and a very solid release schedule.

starstarstarstarstar
Overall

I feel like I should have enjoyed Angry and Cliff more than I did; all the elements are here for a brilliant show, there just wasn’t a strong enough hook to keep me subscribed, or a tight enough format to sustain my attention. The podcast has a strong following, however, so don’t take my word for it — check it out for yourself before writing it off completely.

starstarstarstarstar
3 Comments

  1. Jemma
    Posted October 18, 2009 at 10:27 pm | Permalink

    Hey Tom! I am not sure if you remember me? but i was a Vote Me Up fan back in the day. I have just come across your podcast now! Im thoroughly enjoying it.
    I hope all is well, send me an e-mail if you want :)
    Jem x

  2. Posted November 12, 2009 at 1:55 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the review. Appreciate your thoughts!

  3. Posted November 12, 2009 at 2:23 am | Permalink

    I’ve been listening to Angry & Cliff since the beginning – back when it was just Angry. For me, a quintessential part of the enduring charm of the Angry & Cliff podcast is the Britishness of their senses of humour, justice, outrage and cynicism.

    Undeniably, as you’ve identified, there is a significant amount of on-Mic chemistry, but I do wonder how well their humour translates outside the cultural environment. But that’s just me wondering about things, maybe.

    I always have felt that their show is good entertainment and well produced. But equally I am astounded at the amount of studio time it takes to produce a 40-minute show; in my view the process should be: power up, record, stop recording, publish.

    When one watches the production ‘live’ on the webcam it is obvious that Angry & Cliff have a ball producing the content each week, but I think they lose the ‘live’ edge (which they enjoy in the studio) in translation to their listeners, because of the unbalanced pre-prod and prod time.

    Just my thoughts.

    However I do love their show and no, they’re not paying me for this.


Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

