Review: Start Cooking

img_chili.jpg

There’s quite a few cooking shows out there, and I have subscribed and unsubscribed from quite a few of them. The one that has remained in my list the longest, however, is the Start Cooking podcast.

Start cooking is a video podcast hosted by Kathy Maister, and presents a variety of simple but tasty recipes (though the realse dayes are not very regular). This may not appeal to advanced or professional cooks, but it’s perfect for beginners, or those looking for something quick and easy.

There are two things that I like most about Start cooking: firstly, it’s short (generally just 2-3 minutes long). You get to see all stages of cooking, but the production style is unique in that it is a series of still images rather than a 15 minute full motion video, so they can cram a lot of information in a short period while keeping it easy to follow. Second, the recipes are reletively simple using easily available ingredients, which is more than I can say for most TV chefs.

Website | RSS | iTunes

Ratings for Start Cooking
10/10 Entertainment value
Quick but clear — exactly how a cooking video should be.
8/10 Quality of content
The content itself is great, but lately the video collection has been watered down somewhat with videos like how to crack and separate and egg and juicing a lemon. Stick to recipes, please.
10/10 Production quality
Unlike many other cooking programmes on iTunes, this one is made for the medium, rather then a repackaged TV show. As such, the production style is perfect for a portable video player.
9/10 Overall
An excellent cooking show, but the releases are inconsistent, and you can’t help but feel cheated when you expect a new recipe but get a video about how to crack an egg.
One Comment

  1. Posted February 19, 2008 at 9:44 am | Permalink

    Thanks everyone for the great ratings! I have about 40 videos on my site-30 recipes and about 10 really short Tips and Techniques (like Cracking and Separating an Egg). In addition to that I have filmed over 200 photo-tutorials on the blog side of my site. These tutorial include both recipes and tips. Everything from Chicken Noodle Soup to How to Cut a Pineapple. I am totally open to suggestions. Please do stop by and leave a comment or question and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can! My site is all about learning the basics in cooking. I hope you enjoy it! Cheers, Kathy Maister


Post a Comment

